Repairing a ST Dupont Lighter

All about the luxury lighters from Simon Tissot-Dupont

Repairing a ST Dupont Lighter

Postby Xero » Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:38 pm

I'll be the first to say I'm not a professional lighter repair person and I do not really have a supplier for parts so this may not be as useful as it could be.

Ligne 1 Lighters
It is possible to take apart a ST Dupont Ligne 1 by taking the pin out of the hinge for the lid.

I have a set of micro-screwdrivers (this one here) and one of the tiny bits makes for a good pusher to push the pin through without damaging the lighter. Something like a paper clip will not be strong enough, it needs to be very thin and yet solid. If you mess this up, you will scratch your lighter so don't even try it if you're not sure.

Once you take the lid off you can now finally take out the flint pusher, it pulls out almost like how a ligne 2 lighter does normally. There will be a screw under it. This screw and the fuel nozzle itself act as the screws for the top portion of the lighter. Once they are both removed the top part of the lid will come off.

There's a few parts inside, but generally the flint release button will fall out and if it's a vintage ligne 1 there's going to be a long/thin metal spring plate which should be lifted by the flint button when it's up.

This metal plate pushes down the secondary fuel stopper which most older L1 lighters have when the flint chamber is open (the first being the lid of course). This mechanism seems to often malfunction, causing the lighter to basically act like it's out of gas or otherwise low on fuel, when really the mechanism is just cutting your fuel off due to wear. I am guessing this is why st dupont seems to have made revisions to this mechanism over the years, and supposedly some of the newer models do not have it at all like a ligne 2.